All-Society Platform: “Replacing Magical Thinking with Rational Discourse: How can freethinkers help restore democracy?

Sunday, January 31st 11 am EST / 10 am CST / 9 am MST / 8 am PST

Join the Zoom event by clicking here

American flag

Please join the American Ethical Union on Zoom January 31st for “Replacing Magical Thinking with Rational Discourse: How can freethinkers help restore democracy?” The platform will be shared by representatives from all twenty-five national Ethical Societies and will feature music from the Washington Ethical Society Chorus, Jaque DuPree, and Barry Kornhauser, with presiders Vandra Thorburn, Elaine Durbach, and Lyn Cox.

As we face this historic moment, when cult thinking and fake news have fueled an attempted insurrection, yet grassroots organizing gives us hope in the future of multiracial democracy, we reflect on the intellectual traditions supporting a free society. What do our shared values lead us to do now in order to cultivate a world in which we bring out the best in each other and ideas are allowed to flourish without threat of violence? A panel of ‘freethinkers’ from within our movement will draw from philosophy, history, and Ethical Culture. They are 

Dr. David Sprintzen, Professor Emeritus at Long Island University; 

Christian Hayden, Leader-in-Training at the Ethical Society of St. Louis; and 

Jone Johnson Lewis, Leader at the Riverdale-Yonkers Society for Ethical Culture.

This program is part of our All-Ethical Societies Platform series, in which Ethical Culture societies from around the country will join together on Zoom to learn and grow together.